deployment question...

For the developers that use FFmpeg in their software.
Post Reply
DavidGallagher
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:41 am

deployment question...

Post by DavidGallagher » Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:54 am

my first post here, hello all.

I've recently (finnnaly lol) got ffmpeg setup to use with windows and directx and although still have to work on the timing (being timing is only right for me when I play movies that run at 30fps) I'm pretty happy with the results (though havn't gotten to audio yet).

anyway onto my question...

does ffmpeg rely on the destination computer having the codec's already on the system in order to play a video, or can i deploy my app and with my video on to any system and it will play.

thanks.

malcolmb
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2011 5:54 pm

Re: deployment question...

Post by malcolmb » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:19 pm

Codecs are included in the ffmpeg .dlls. It doesn't rely on external installed files.

DavidGallagher
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 2:41 am

Re: deployment question...

Post by DavidGallagher » Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:34 am

Thank you malcomb! appreciate the info I was hopeing it would, now I'm really happy with ffmpeg :)

Post Reply