Page 1 of 1

ProRes with 12ch audio - possible?

Posted: Sat May 30, 2015 10:27 am
by tteam
Hi,

I have a movie with 5.1 original audio (51wavOV.wav) and 5.1 dubbed audio (51wavDUB.wav)... the plan is to creating a ProRes with 12ch audio. Ill try every settings channelsplit mapping etc etc.... but did not work.:(

any idea?

Best
TTEam

Re: ProRes with 12ch audio - possible?

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:17 pm
by llogan
You can use the amerge audio filter:

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -i video -i input1.wav -i input2.wav -filter_complex "[1:a][2:a]amerge=inputs=2[a]" -map 0:v -map "[a]" -c:v prores -c:a pcm_s16le output.mov
Output will result in FL+FR+FC+LFE+BL+BR+FLC+FRC+BC+SL+SR+TC.

See "ffmpeg -layouts" for a description of each named channel.

Re: ProRes with 12ch audio - possible?

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:30 pm
by tteam
Hi, thanks for your help :)

this solution is good good good but not so good :(...beacuse only the quicktime player can play the audio, because the ffmpeg create a merged 12channel audio wav in the ProRes. I cannot play/hear the audio in VLC or other player....

Do you have any idea to add the 12ch audio (5.1+5.1) in separate stream? a:1 a:2 ----a:12?

Thanks
Tteam :)

Re: ProRes with 12ch audio - possible?

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 6:38 pm
by llogan
Sorry, but I don't really understand what you want to do.

Do you want 12 separate, mono audio streams?

Re: ProRes with 12ch audio - possible?

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:33 pm
by tteam
YESSSS :)

Re: ProRes with 12ch audio - possible?

Posted: Tue Jun 02, 2015 9:19 pm
by llogan
Here's a method using the channelsplit audio filter:

Code: Select all

ffmpeg -i input1.wav -i input2.wav -filter_complex "[0:a]channelsplit=channel_layout=5.1;[1:a]channelsplit=channel_layout=5.1" -c:a pcm_s16le output.mov

Re: ProRes with 12ch audio - possible?

Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 7:35 am
by tteam
Hi,

thanks this is works 100% :) great job :)